Eschatological Timeline: Part 1

This eschatological timeline is a summary and expansion of Timothy F. Kauffman’s work at the Out of His Mouth blog. This post will likely be significantly reworked in the future and split into multiple parts. Eventually the first part of the series will explain why an eschatological timeline is even necessary, but for now here it is in its full glory.

The timeline is broken down into two partially overlapping sections. The first primarily covers the statue and creatues prophecies of Daniel and the prophecies of Revelation that refer to it. The second primarily covers the seven seals, seven trumpets, and the seven bowls.

NOTE: even if the timeline is wrong—especially the timing of the seals/trumpets/bowls in Revelation—there is little question as to the identity of the Beast, the identification of which does not require any knowledge of the specific scroll, trumpet, and bowl judgments.


Babylon: Gold/Lion

Lifted up after Nebuchadnezzar’s humiliation (605-538BC)

605-562BC: Nebuchadnezzar II
562-560BC: Amel-Marduk
560-556BC: Neriglissar
556-556BC: Labashi-Marduk
556-539BC: Nabonidus

Medo-Persia: Silver/Bear/Ram

Raised up on one side: Persian dominance (538-330BC)

538-530BC: Cyrus the Great
530-522BC: Cambyses II
522-522BC: Bardiya
522-486BC: Darius the Great
485-465BC: Xerxes I — Book of Esther
465-424BC: Artaxerxes I
424-404BC: Darius II
404-358BC: Artaxerxes II
358-338BC: Artaxerxes III
338-336BC: Artaxerxes IV
336-330BC: Darius III
330-329BC: Artaxerxes V

Greece: Bronze/He-Goat/Notable horn of He-Goat

United empire: 330-323BC

336-323BC: Alexander the Great [Daniel 11:1-3]

Greece: Bronze/Leopard/He-goat/Four Horns of He-Goat

Divided empire: 323-44BC
Ended with four heads/divisions

323-317BC: Philip III Arrhidaios
323-280BC: Establishment of Alexandrian Frame [Daniel 11:4] 336-280BC: Ptolemy to the South; Seleucus [Daniel 11:5] 252-188BC: Seleucids, Phase I: North [Daniel 11:6-18] 188-163BC: Seleucids, Phase II: East [Daniel 11:19-39] 175-163BC: Little Horn [Daniel 8] 175-164BC: 2,300 literal days
167-164BC: 1,290 literal days, then another 45 to get to 1,335 days, cessation of sacrifices, Abomination of Desolation (Statue of Jupiter) in the Temple. [Greek antagonist of Daniel 8, 9, and 11] 67-48BC: Pompey vs Pirates, Mithridates, Tigranes [Daniel 11:40-45] 47-44BC: Ptolemy XIV

Roman Empire: Iron Legs/Fourth Beast

Strong Roman Empire in ascent (Julius Caesar 44B.C. to Galba 69A.D.)

Julius Caesar (declared Dictator perpetuo in 44 B.C.)
Civil Wars (44 – 27 B.C.)
Augustus (27 B.C. – 14 A.D.), Julius’ grand-nephew
Tiberius (14 – 37 A.D.), Augustus’ step-son
Caligula (37 – 41 A.D.), Tiberius’ grand-nephew
Claudius (41 – 54 A.D.), Caligula’s uncle
Nero (54 – 68 A.D.), Claudius’ grand-nephew

The Apocalypse of John is written:

“Even kings, five of which had fallen, one of which was currently ruling and one of which would follow” — Revelation 17:10

Galba (68-69 A.D.), related by marriage and adoption

Roman Empire: Iron & Clay Feet/Fourth Beast

Partly-strong Rome in descent (Ortho 69AD to Diocletian 293AD)


Formation of Toes
Emergence of Horns

Otho (Jan – Apr 69 A.D.), Etruscan (non-Roman) lineage
Vitellius (Apr – Dec 69 A.D.), of Latium or possibly common lineage
Vespasian (69 – 79 A.D.), a commoner

Transfer of the Heavenly Kingdom from the Jews (A.D. 70) which the saints receive. “in the days of these kings shall the God of heaven set up a kingdom, which shall never be destroyed” (Daniel 2:43-44)

Titus (79 – 81 A.D.), Vespasian’s son
Domitian (81 – 96 A.D.), Titus’ brother
Nerva (96 – 98 A.D.), Coceii family, distantly related to the Julio-Claudian dynasty
Trajan (98 – 117 A.D.), of Hispanic and Italian stock
Hadrian (117 -138 A.D.), of Hispanic, possibly Italian stock
Antoninus (138 – 161 A.D.), from Nimes (southern France)
…39 more…
Diocletian (296AD)

Stone strikes the Roman Empire, breaking it into fragments from which the Roman Church would arise: Diocletian reorganizes the empire into Tetrarchs over 12 dioceses in 296AD.

Roman Empire: Iron & Clay Toes/Horns

Rome in pieces — (296AD to 395AD)

296-382AD: Roman Empire reorganized from 12 (beginning) to 13 (ending) dioceses each ruled by its own vicarii:

  • Diocese of the East (principal city: Antioch)
  • Diocese of Egypt (principal city: Alexandria)
  • Diocese of Italy (principal city: Rome)
  • Diocese of Asia
  • Diocese of Pontica
  • Diocese of Thrace
  • Diocese of Macedonia
  • Diocese of Dacia
  • Diocese of Pannonia/Illyricum
  • Diocese of Africa
  • Diocese of Gaul/Septem Provinciæ
  • Diocese of Spain
  • Diocese of Britain

380AD: Christianity becomes the official state religion of Rome.

382AD: Council of Rome; Emergence of Little Horn [Daniel 9]

Three dioceses vying for supremacy: Antioch, where Peter was first, Rome where Peter was last, and Alexandria where Mark was. Pope Gregory the Great in 590 to 604 A. D. declared it three bishops in a See of One. Pope Bendict XVI declared Peter’s apostolic succession to run through these three.

Roman Catholicism (little horn) claims 3 dioceses: Rome (Italy), Alexandria (Egypt), and Antioch (Oriens); the Three Petrine Sees. Little Horn does not yet claim civil power of the sword.

382-395AD: Roman Empire rules with 10 horns (dioceses) alongside the little horn that swallowed up the 3 horns (dioceses). 

“And the ten horns which thou sawest are ten kings, which have received no kingdom as yet; but receive power as kings one hour with the beast.” (Revelation 17:12)

395AD: Transfer of the Earthly Kingdom to the small horn, the Antichrist, which Roman Catholicism receives. Roman Catholicism takes up the civil power of the sword.

Papal Roman Catholicism: Little Horn

Little horn is the Roman antagonist of Daniel 7
395-1655AD, or 
1,260 years.

Perseverance of the Vaudois in the Alpine Valleys
Little Horn “shall wear out the saints of the most High”
Beast is free to “continue” (“do”) for “forty and two months” [Revelation 13:5] Beast is given “to make war with the saints, to overcome them” [Revelation 13:7] Woman [Church] “is nourished for a time, and times, and half a time, from the face of the serpent [Satan]” [Revelation 12:14]

1655AD: Massacre of the Waldensians. Survivors scatter through Europe. Little Horn reduced to pre-395AD dominions and abandons Papal civil and military power. Sudden rapid decline of Papal influence in Europe.


The Seven Seals (Revelation 6-8)

Seal 1: 226 A.D. – Rise of the Sassanid Empire
Seal 2: 235 A.D. – The Crisis of the Third Century
Seal 3: 301 A.D. – Diocletian’s Edict on Maximum Prices (“Barley, Oil, and Wine”)
Seal 4: 303 A.D. – The Diocletianic Persecution
Seal 5: 311 A.D. – The “pretended relaxation”
Seal 6: 358 A.D. – The earthquake of Nicomedia
Seal 7: 358 A.D. –  The burning of Nicomedia

The Seven Trumpets (Revelation 8-9)

Trumpet 1: 359 A.D. – Eden Burning
Trumpet 2: 365 A.D. – The Egyptian Tsunami
Trumpet 3: 382-404 A.D. – The Latin Vulgate
Trumpet 4: 536 A.D. – The Mysterious Persistent Fog (Volcanic winter of 536)
Trumpet 5: 1095-1245 A.D. – The “Holy Land Crusading Spirit”
Trumpet 6: 1914-1945 A.D. – World Wars I & II
Trumpet 7: Still to come in the future

The Seven Bowls (Revelation 16)

Bowl 1: The Stigmata (1224 A.D. – present)
Bowl 2: The Plague of Scurvy (1453 – late 1700s A.D.)
Bowl 3: The Dogma of Papal Infallibility (1870 A.D.)
Bowl 4: Scorching by the Sun at Fátima (1917 A.D.)
Bowl 5: The first (and only) formally ex cathedra papal statement in Roman Catholic history (1950 A.D.).
Bowl 6: Possibly ongoing
Bowl 7: Still to come in the future


  1. Pingback: Eschatology: The Seven Kings

  2. Pingback: Barley, Oil, and Wine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *